The Daisy Award Nominations

The Daisy Award
The Daisy Award Nominations
The Daisy Award

Nominate a nurse for The Daisy Award

The Daisy Award Honorees personify Monadnock Community Hospital’s remarkable
patient experience. These nurses consistently demonstrate excellence and extraordinary compassionate care. They are recognized as outstanding role models in our community.

About the Daisy Foundation

The DAISY Foundation was established in 1999 by the family of J. Patrick Barnes, who died from complications of the autoimmune disease Idiopathic Thrombocytopenia Purpura (ITP) at the age of 33. “DAISY” is an acronym for the diseases that attack the immune system. During Pat’s 8-week hospitalization, his family was awestruck by the care and compassion his nurses provided not only to Pat, but to everyone in his family. So, one of the goals they set when creating a foundation in Pat’s memory was to recognize extraordinary nurses everywhere who make a significant, positive impact on the people they serve and the healthcare communities in which they work.

What is The DAISY Award?
The DAISY Award is an international program that rewards and celebrates the extraordinary clinical skill and compassionate care given by nurses every day. Monadnock Community Hospital is proud to be a DAISY Award Partner by recognizing one of our nurses annually with this special honor.

Each DAISY Award Honoree will be recognized at a public ceremony in his or her nursing unit and will receive a beautiful certificate, a DAISY Award pin, and a hand-carved stone sculpture entitled, “A Healer’s Touch.”

Additionally, everyone in the Honoree’s unit will enjoy Cinnabon® cinnamon rolls—a favorite of Patrick’s during his illness. The Barnes Family asks that whenever and wherever Nurses smell that wonderful cinnamon aroma, they stop for a moment and think about how special they are.

How to Nominate an Extraordinary Nurse
Patients, family members, visitors, nurses, physicians and all employees and volunteers are invited to nominate a deserving nurse by completing the form below

DAISY Award Recipients:

Pictured left to right: Vicki Loughrey Vice President Patient Care, Donna Infante RN, Clayton Kuusisto RN, Cyndee McGuire CEO


Donna Infante, RN – Sarah Hogate Bacon Emergency Department
Clayton Kuusisto, RN – Sarah Hogate Bacon Emergency Department


Melissa Curran – Oncology Department


Ruth Cilley – Emergency Department


Trish Harper-Lentricchia


Patrick Sullivan, RN – Oncology & Christi Santerre, RN – Med/Surg


Pam Neal, RN – ED


Ethan Shipley, RN – ED

The DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses Nomination Form

Thank you for taking the time to nominate an extraordinary nurse for
The DAISY Award. Please tell us about yourself so we may include you
in the celebration should the nurse you nominate be chosen.

  • MM slash DD slash YYYY
  • Please write about a specific situation involving the nurse you arenominating that clearly describes how he or she meets the criteria for The DAISY Award:
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

At Monadnock Community Hospital, The DAISY Award Honoree is chosen annually in June.

If you have any questions or need further information about The DAISY Award, please contact:
Jennifer Alexander BSN, RNC-OB
Director, Birthing Suite
603-924-4699 x 4137